Saturday, April 02, 2011

Without question the "Most Decorated"...

Today UConn Sr. Maya Moore became the most decorated player in the history of NCAA basketball (men's or women's for that matter) as she was named the winner of the prestigious 2011 State Farm Wade Trophy which is the highest honor in women's college basketball for the (record) third time. Moore has posted a 150-3 record at UConn. She has led the Huskies to an NCAA-record 90-game winning streak, four BIG EAST Championships and four NCAA Women's Final Four appearances. Sunday night her team continues its quest for a third national championship in a row, and eighth overall. While averaging 23.4ppg this season (19.7 points per game in her collegiate career), Moore became the Huskies' all-time leading scorer earlier this season and is only the seventh player in NCAA Division I women's basketball history to score at least 3,000 career points. She is one of only two players to be selected as a First Team All-American four times. She won the BIG EAST Player of the Year Award three times and was voted as the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Tournament in 2010. Equally impressive is Moore's performance in the classroom. She recently was named BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year and the Capital One University Division All-American of the Year by the College Sports Information Directors of America for the second-consecutive year. The Lawrenceville, Ga., native who sports a 3.7 GPA in an individualized major of sports media promotion, is a three-time Academic All-America pick.

2011 State Farm Wade Trophy Winner:
Sr. W Maya Moore, Connecticut

The 2011 State Farm All-America Team was also announced today and Moore became the first player in UConn history to be named to the team all four year's of her career.

2011 State Farm All-America Team:
Sr. F Danielle Adams, Texas A&M
Jr. G Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame
So. C Brittney Griner, Baylor
Sr. F Amber Harris, Xavier
Jr. G Shenise Johnson, Miami
Sr. C Jantel Lavender, Ohio State
Sr. W Maya Moore, Connecticut
Jr. F Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford
Jr. W Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee
Sr. G Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga

No comments: