Thursday, October 21, 2010

The Most Stunning News of the Week!!

The two-time defending National Champions were picked to win the 2010-11 Big East Conference Regular Season Title in a poll voted on by the league coaches today at Big East Media Day. Connecticut was the unanimous choice by the coaches. Connecticut's Maya Moore was unanimously selected as the 2010-11 Preseason Big East POTY and Connecticut's Bria Hartley was picked as the 2010-11 Preseason Big East FOTY. Eleven players were named to the 2010-11 Preseason All Big East Team including Connecticut's Moore and Tiffany Hayes (both were unanimous selections).

2010-11 Preseason Big East Coaches’ Poll:
1. Connecticut (15) 225
2. West Virginia (1) 207
3. Georgetown 186
4. Notre Dame 177
5. St. John’s 173
6. DePaul 164
7. Rutgers 131
8. Louisville 125
9. Syracuse 120
10. Marquette 90
11. South Florida 80
12. Providence 70
13. Pittsburgh 67
14. Villanova 46
15. Cincinnati 43
16. Seton Hall 16

( ) – Indicates first place votes

2010-11 Preseason BIG EAST Honors:
Player of the Year:
Sr. F Maya Moore, Connecticut*
Preseason Freshman of the Year:
Fr. G Bria Hartley, Connecticut

2010-11 Preseason All-Big East Team:
So. G Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame*
Jr. F Keisha Hampton, DePaul
Jr. G Tiffany Hayes, Connecticut*
Sr. G Sarah Miles, West Virginia
Sr. F Maya Moore, Connecticut*
Jr. F Monique Reid, Louisville
Sr. G Liz Repella, West Virginia
Sr. G Angel Robinson, Marquette
So. G Sugar Rogers, Georgetown*
So. G Shenneika Smith, St. John’s
Jr. F Da’Shena Stevens, St. John’s

* - unanimous selection

2010-11 Preseason All-Big East Honorable Mention:
Sr. G Erica Morrow, Syracuse
Sr. G Deirdre Naughton, DePaul
Sr. G Sam Quigley, DePaul
Jr. G Khadijah Rushdan, Rutgers

Sunday, October 03, 2010

USA Red, White, & Blue as well as Husky Gold!!!

Today at the 2010 World Championships the USA Basketball Women's National Team won the gold medal with a 89-69 victory over the host Czech Republic team. The 12-member USA squad coached by UConn Head Coach Geno Auriemma was led to victory by former Husky Greats Diana Taurasi (16pts., named to All-World Championship Team), Sue Bird (11pts. and 6asts.), and Tina Charles (13pts. and 10rebs.). Reigning WCBB National Player of the Year and current UConn All-American Maya Moore poured in with 9 pts. off the bench. Former UConn Stars Swin Cash and Asjha Jones chipped in 2pts. and 4pts. respectively. The gold medal finish also entered Cash and Taurasi into an exclusive list of players who have won Olympic and FIBA World Championship gold, a WNBA title and NCAA crown. They join current USA teammate Bird, as well as Cynthia Cooper, Sheryl Swoopes and former Husky Great Kara Wolters as the only U.S. players in history to win all four.

2010 World Championships:
Gold - United States of America (automatic bid to 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London)
Silver - Czech Republic

Bronze - Spain

2010 All-World Championship Team:
C Yelena Leuchanka, Belarus
G Hana Horakova, Czech Republic (MVP)
F Eva Viteckova, Czech Republic
F Amaya Valdemoro, Spain
G/F Diana Taurasi, United States of America