Saturday, May 31, 2008

Nine of the 12 members of the USA Olympic women's basketball team were named today. Former UConn stars PG Sue Bird and SG Diana Taurasi were named to their 2nd Olympic squad after having won gold medals in the 2004 Athens Olympic Games. Other UConn players vying for one of the three final spots are SF Swin Cash and PF Asjha Jones.

2008 USA Olympic Team:
SF Seimone Augustus, LSU
PG Sue Bird, Connecticut
C Sylvia Fowles, LSU
C Lisa Leslie, Suuthern Cal
PF Candace Parker, Tennessee
SG Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers
SG Katie Smith, Ohio State
SF Diana Taurasi, Connecticut
PF Tina Thompson, Southern Cal

Saturday, May 03, 2008

UConn added another player to its roster, but she won't play until the 2009-10 season. Washington transfer and New Zealand native 6'5 C Jessica McCormack has accepted the scholarship offer from UConn and committed to playing for the Huskies. She will have to sit out the 2008-09 season due to NCAA transfer rules. She made the decision final after playing the US Senior National team in the GOod Luck Beijing tournament in China where she is a member of the New Zealand National team that will play in the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China in August.