Monday, June 27, 2011

Today former UConn women's basketball star Maya Moore has won the 2011 Honda-Broderick Cup for the second straight year as the top female college athlete. Moore, a native of Jefferson City, Missouri who grew up in Lawrenceville, Georgia, has been nominated for the Honda Sports Award for basketball all four years of her college career and won the honor last year. She becomes the 1st-ever player to win the award in back-to-back season and is only the second athlete to be named as Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year twice (Tracy Caulkins won in ‘82 and ‘84). Moore led the UConn team to four Final Four appearances, two national titles and a 150-4 record. She is the fourth-leading scorer in NCAA history, with 3,036 points. Honored as the Capital One University Division Academic All-American of the Year and BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2010 and 2011, Moore was also selected as a CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2009. A three-time WBCA Wade Trophy honoree and four-time WBCA State Farm First Team All-American, she won the Naismith Trophy, the Associated Press Player of the Year Award and the USBWA Player of the Year Award in 2009 and 2011. She was also the John R. Wooden Award honoree in 2009 and 2011. Moore held a 3.669 GPA in sports media and promotion. She was the #1 draft pick for the WNBA this year and is currently playing with the Minnesota Lynx.

Sunday, June 05, 2011

Today UConn's trio of So. C Stefanie Dolson, So. G Bria Hartley and Fr. F Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis were named to the 2011 USA Women's U19 World Championship Team as announced by USA Basketball. They are also joined on the team by UConn commits F/C Breanna Stewart and F Morgan Tuck. The 12-member squad will reassemble July 11-15 for training at the USOTC, before the team travels to Chile for its final preparations. As the winner of the past three U19 World Championships, the USA will look to defend its title at the 2011 U19 Worlds, hosted by Chile from July 21-31 in Puerto Montt and Puerto Varas. The USA has been drawn into Group B for preliminary round play and will tip-off against Japan on July 21 (12:30pm ET), face Russia on July 22 (12:30pm ET) and close the first round against Argentina on July 23 (3:30pm ET). The second round will be played July 25-27, quarterfinals are slated for July 29, semifinals will be held on July 30 and the finals are scheduled for July 31.