Tuesday, March 11, 2014

2014 James E. Sullivan Award list

Today UConn Sr. All-American G Bria Hartley was selected as one of 19 nominees for the 2014 James E. Sullivan Award, which honors the nation’s outstanding amateur athlete, as announced by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU).  Cast your vote for Bria at aausports.org! Tuesday marks the first day of voting to find the winner of the 2013 AAU Sullivan Award. Voting is open to the public and will account for one-third of the athlete’s overall score. The nominees were nominated by someone who thought they fit the requirements of outstanding athletic ability, strong character, leadership and sportsmanship. Three finalists will be named no later than March 28th and the winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Friday, April 11 at the AAU National Headquarters in Orlando, FL. The Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930, and is based on character, leadership and sportsmanship. Notable recipients of the AAU Sullivan Award include: Mark Spitz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Joyner, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, J.J. Redick, Tim Tebow, Shawn Johnson and Missy Franklin.