Monday, March 31, 2014

2013-14 USBWA All-American Team

The trio of All-American Sr. C Stefanie Dolson, Sr. G Bria Hartley, and So. F Breanna Stewart have earned spots on the 10-member 2013-14 United States Basketball Writers Association All-America Team as announced by the USBWA today. The USBWA Women's All-America Team is the nation's best ten players, regardless of position, as selected by the USBWA membership based on regular-season performance. These ten standouts are finalists for the USBWA's Ann Meyers Drysdale Award as the national player of the year, which will be announced Sunday at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn., at 3:30 p.m. ET prior to the start of the NCAA Women's Final Four. Dolson earns her second-straight USBWA All-America Team selection while Hartley and Stewart earn the honor for the first time. Huskies have had at least one selection on the 10-member team in six of the last seven seasons. Dolson is the fifh Husky to earn multiple selections to the team, which began in 1996, joining former UConn Greats Nykesha Sales, Svetlana Abrosimova, Diana Taurasi, and Maya Moore.

2013-14 USBWA All-American Team:
Sr. C Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut
Sr. G Bria Hartley, Connecticut
So. G Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame
Sr. G Maggie Lucas, Penn State
Sr. G Kayla McBride, Notre Dame
Sr. F Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford
Sr. G Shoni Schimmel, Louisville
Sr. G Odyssey Sims, Baylor
So. F Breanna Stewart, Connecticut
Sr. F Alyssa Thomas, Maryland

No comments: