Thursday, February 09, 2012

The UConn trio of recruits are now the UConn trio of HS All-Americans. Led by the newly crowned 2012 State Farm/WBCA National HS Player of the Year 6'3 F Breanna Stewart (North Syracuse, NY), the trio which also includes 5'7 G Moriah Jefferson (Glenn Heights, TX) and 6'2 F Morgan Tuck (Bolingbrook, IL) was selected to play in the 2012 McDonald's HS All-American Game today and yesterday were all select to play in the 2012 WBCA HS All-American Game presented by Nike.

Stewart is currently ranked No. 1 among high school girls basketball players in the U.S. by ESPN She also was honored by USA Basketball in January as the 2011 Female Athlete of the Year. As Cicero-North Syracuse's leading scorer, Stewart averages 24 points per game and has scored in double figures in every game of the season. She has scored 25 or more points in six games, including a season-high 44 against Hill School on Jan. 17 and two performances of more than 30 points each. She becomes the 7th WBCA National High School Player of the Year to sign with the Huskies. Previous players of the year on UConn's roster include Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (2011), Maya Moore (2007), Tina Charles (2006), Ann Strother (2002) and Tamika (Williams) Raymond (1998). Elena Delle Donne (2008) initially signed with UConn, but enrolled at the University of Delaware before playing for the Huskies. Her Cicero-North Syracuse team (14-2) sits atop its conference standings with an unblemished mark of 10-0. As of Jan. 30 the Northstars are ranked eighth nationally by ESPN after debuting at No. 26 in the 2011-12 preseason rankings. Stewart will be formally honored at halftime of the 2012 WBCA High School All-America Game presented by NIKE, which will be played at 4:30 p.m. MT Saturday, March 31, at the Pepsi Center in Denver. The game is held annually as part of the WBCA National Convention and NCAA® Women's Final Four® "Super Saturday" festivities. The 2012 McDonald's All-American Game on March 28 in Chicago at the United Center where the 2012 McDonald's Girls' National HS Player of the Year award will be named and presented.

No comments: