Monday, February 13, 2012

Today 7 former Huskies were named 21 finalists for 2012 U.S. Olympic Women's Basketball Team roster which will be coached by UConn Head Coach Geno Auriemma. Olymic Gold Medalists' Sue Bird, Swin Cash, and Diana Taurasi are joined by Tina Charles, Asjha Jones, Renee Montgomery and Maya Moore to comprise the seven Huskies that have been chosen as finalists. Connecticut leads all other universities with Tennessee having three former student-athletes. The final 12-member USA National Team roster will be announced in the early summer.

The 21 finalists for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team include: Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars), Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Bird (Seattle Storm), Rebekkah Brunson (Minnesota Lynx), Cash (Chicago Sky), Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), Charles (Connecticut Sun), Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury), Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky), Brittney Griner (Baylor University), Lindsey Harding (Atlanta Dream), Jones (Connecticut Sun), Kara Lawson (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Montgomery (Connecticut Sun), Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Candace Parker(Los Angeles Sparks), Cappie Pondexter (New York Liberty), Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury), Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx) and Sophia Young (San Antonio Silver Stars).

No comments: