Monday, February 13, 2012

Today all three UConn commits were named as finalists for the 2012 Naismith Girls' High School Player of the Year. Moriah Jefferson (T.H.E.S.A., Glenn Heights, Texas), Breanna Stewart (Cicero-North Syracuse High School, Syracuse, N.Y.) and Morgan Tuck (Bolingbrook High School, Bolingbrook, Ill.) all have been selected as three of the five finalists. They are looking to become the sixth future UConn player to win the award, joining Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (2011), Maya Moore (2006, 2007) Ann Strother (2002), Diana Taurasi (2000) and Tamika Williams (1998). Elena Delle Donne (2008) also won the award before transferring to Delaware. The winner will be recognized by the Atlanta Tipoff Club at its season-ending Naismith Awards Banquet presented by AT&T and Newell Rubbermaid, March 22, 2012, at the Georgia International Convention Center (GICC) in Atlanta.

No comments: