Saturday, April 03, 2010

And they haven't stopped rolling in....

Today UConn's Sr. C Tina Charles was named the 2009-10 Associated Press Women's National Player of the Year. Charles received 33 out of the 40 possible votes and her UConn teammate Maya Moore finished 2nd in the voting with 4 votes.  Charles becomes the 7th UConn player ever to win the award after a stellar senior year and will have her name hang high above the Gampel Pavilion court in Storrs, Conn., with past winners Rebecca Lobo, Kara Wolters, Diana Taurasi, Jennifer Rizzotti, Moore, and Sue Bird. UConn Head Coach Auriemma finished 2nd in the voting with 10 out of the 40 possible votes (Nebraska Head Coach Connie Yori won the 2009-10 AP National Coach of the Year after receiving 28 votes).

No comments: