Wednesday, March 26, 2008

Connecticut's Jr. PG Renee Montgomery and So. C Tina Charles are among the 12 finalists for the 2007-08 State Farm Wade Trophy announced today by the WBCA. Noticably absent from the final list of 12 is UConn's phenom freshman Maya Moore who is not eligible for the award based solely on the fact that she is a freshman. I would love to see that be the case in men's college basketball for a National POTY award and the kind of controversy that would raise, but it's only women's college basketball so we brush it under the rug (STUPID RULE....WBCA....REALLY STUPID!!!!). She is still eligible for the 2007-08 State Farm (formerly Kodak) All America Team though.

The 12 Finalists:
Matee Ajavon, Rutgers
Essence Carson, Rutgers
Tina Charles, Connecticut
Sylvia Fowles, LSU
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland
Erlana Larkins, North Carolina
Angel McCoughtry, Louisville
Renee Montgomery, Connecticut
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma
Candace Parker, Tennessee
Kristi Toliver, Maryland
Candice Wiggins, Stanford

No comments: