Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Today USA Basketball announced the 12 player roster who will represent the U.S. at the 2010 FIBA World Championship that will be held Sept. 23 - Oct. 3 in Ostrava and Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic. The player selections, made by the USA Basketball Women’s National Team Player Selection Committee, were announced following a two and a half-week training camp that included four exhibition games. Named to the 2010 USA World Championship squad are two-time Olympic gold medalists Sue Bird (Seattle Storm) Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever) and Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury); 2008 Olympic gold medalist Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky); 2004 Olympic gold medalist Swin Cash (Seattle Storm); as well as top-tier international newcomers Jayne Appel (San Antonio Silver Stars), Tina Charles (Connecticut Sun), Candice Dupree (Phoenix Mercury), Asjha Jones (Connecticut Sun), Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Maya Moore (University of Connecticut), and Lindsay Whalen (Minnesota Lynx). The team will be coached by University of Connecticut Head Coach Geno Auriemma. Six of his current/former players make up half the squad (Bird, Cash, Charles, Jones, Moore (currently still a Husky), and Taurasi).

No comments: